Why I Don’t Believe in Guilty Pleasures

Let me back up and start by saying that I fully condone taking part in what some people might consider guilty pleasures. Things like binge-watching Gilmore Girls is ok by me. I also fully support drinking way too much tea (obviously), lacy undies (if that’s your thing), and skipping work on really really nice days. I don’t, however, agree with self-destructive actions like drinking to excess, smoking around kids, and drug use. Sorry.

I like what I like and I don’t want to apologize for it. Our days are spent doing things we have to do – work, laundry, making dinner, paying taxes. So when I find something I truly enjoy I’m going to take part in it completely. I will eat the last piece of Valentine’s Day candy at 4:30 in the morning while my tea steeps and everyone else is asleep. I’ll do it, I’ll enjoy it, and I won’t feel a moment of guilt or regret over it. And yes, that happened this morning and it was a great start to the day.

It’s so sad that we feel pressured by others to hide what we really enjoy so that we feel like we can fit in. I think that this need to be fulfilled by others fuels consumerism and judgmental lifestyles. Like I wrote about in my last post I really want to break away from that way of living. I want to spend my days doing things I truly enjoy, even if that’s not what is considered  normal or cool. I honestly can’t remember the last time I went clothes shopping and I’m ok with that. Whenever I do need to replace an item I head to goodwill instead of the mall. I have to have clothes, but they don’t have to be brand new or expensive.

In the spirit of being who we really are here’s a list of my top 10 guilty pleasures:

1- Reba McEntire – This girl is awesome. I crank her up when she comes on the radio and now I vow not to turn her down the next time I pull up next to someone at a red light.

2- Cook-Out – Where else do you know that you can get an order of chicken nuggets with a side of chicken nuggets? Nowhere, I’d wager. This is fabulous food.

3 – Wearing my pjs all day on snow days – Snow days are THE BEST. As the only teacher in a family full of professionals I often feel a stab of guilt when I shower and put on my day pjs. No more. Snow days don’t happen nearly enough and they make up for all the bodily fluids I get on me in a day.

4 – Shower wine – OK, this is not something that happens very often. But it should.

5 – Peppermint Mochas – From Starbucks, of course. They come around once a year and I always feel like the people in the store are judging me and my gift cards I use to buy them. What, you think I’m paying out of pocket?

6- Naps – I don’t do this very much in the winter, but when summer break is here and C and I have played outside all morning you best believe this is going to happen. Extra pleasure points for naps in hammocks.

7 – Talenti Gelato with C and my mom – This is a cross-generational pleasure and the best it can get. We’ll buy a pint of gelato and sit on the sofa together with three spoons. The best part? No dirty bowls.

8 – Period dramas like Reign and The Tudors – Something about the outfits and the accents make me keep pressing “next episode”.

9 – Craigslist “missed connections” – I’ll sit, happily married, next to Bruce on the sofa and giggle over these. I’ve actually seen one directed at a close friend before!

10 – Letting a dog on the couch with me – Letting the dogs on the furniture is frowned upon in our house, but sometimes Bruce is working at night and the snuggles are nice. Extra points for watching The Tudors while breaking the rules.

image

Yes, I’m wearing pearls and long underwear at the same time. It must have been an interesting day.

So there’s my list of ten awesome things I really enjoy. Life is short. Enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

